Tag Archives: noble truths

What are the Four Noble Truths?

The basic principle foundation of Bhuddhist thought are known as the “Four Noble truths” which was the first revelation received by Bhuddha Sakyamuni.

The Four Noble Truths are;
1.The Nature of Suffering (Dukkha). Suffering is real, all Sentient beings suffer in one way or another.
2.Suffering’s Origin (Samudaya). If Suffering exists, then it must have a cause – that cause is craving, attachment and ignorance
3.Suffering’s Cessation (Nirodha). If there is a beginning to suffering, it must also have an end (called Nirodha – the extinguishing)
4.The way to end Suffering (Maka). The way to end Suffering is the Eightfold Path as explained by the Lord Bhuddha.
These 4 Truths can be likened to the following;

  1. Diagnosis of an illness
  2. Prognosis for the illness
  3. Recovery thereof
  4. Medicine to cure the disease

  1. Suffering is universal (Dhukka)
  2. The origin of suffering is attachment (Samutaya)
  3. The cessation of suffering is attainable (Nirodha)
  4. The Path to the cessation of suffering is detachment (Magkha )